Happy Tails! – GEMMA & HOPE (pka Penny & Skunk)


My husband and I unexpectedly lost a beloved 13 year-old Chihuahua mix in January 2013.   I was devastated; I missed holding her, I missed her excitement when I got home from work,  I just missed everything about her.  My heart ached.

In March, I was browsing online and came across K-9 Angels, and there were some tiny Chihuahua-mix babies who needed a home.

I worked one Saturday and my husband went to K-9 Angels and got Penny (now Gemma) for me.  She was 1 pound 7 ounces; the 7 ounces were ears.  It was an immediate love affair.  That said, when my husband went to the adoption center to get her, he held a Chihuahua-Dachshund mix named Skunk.  He talked about her for weeks, and he kept checking online to see if she had been adopted.

About a month after we adopted Gemma, we were in the backyard relaxing and he said, “We’re going tomorrow to get that dog.”  So Skunk (now Hope) joined our family in April.

These dogs are precious.  They love each other, they love us, they love our guests, they love food, they love their backyard, they love their beds, they love their toys.  They are both happy and outgoing and full of life, and we will be forever grateful to K-9 Angels for saving them.  They bring such joy to our lives.  We are also happy to say that 2 friends who knew of our wonderful experience with K-9 Angels have adopted from K-9 Angels as well!

Leave a comment

Filed under Happy Tails

Please Leave a Reply

