Happy Tails! – BUTTERS & ONYX

(Butters previously known as “RJ”)

 

A Tale of Two Poodles…

Back when K-9AR first started in the beginning of 2012, I decided to try out fostering a cute poodle mix named RJ, even though my crotchety old poodle Jerry hated other dogs.  As much as Jerry acted like he hated him, RJ really helped him to be more active.  Well, after a few weeks we knew we couldn’t let him go and RJ became Butters.  We couldn’t have asked for a sweeter, happier guy.  He has the cutest brown nose and tiny underbite.  We absolutely love him – but I was told in no uncertain terms I wasn’t allowed to foster again.

Fast forward to October 2013. K-9AR saved a little black poodle named Onyx who had a spinal injury and continence issues.  She had been with the rescue for about a month without a regular foster.  I begged my husband to let us foster her for the week… one week turned into three months.  Understandably, she was a difficult adoption – and after three months of not getting adopted (and me totally and completely falling in love with her), my husband relented and we adopted her.  She is definitely a special girl and has her issues, but we’ve found a way to make it work.

The challenges of her are SO outweighed by her quirky, loving and scrappy personality.   Although she can’t wag her tail, I can always read her feelings because she has the most expressive face.  When she looks in my eyes, I see such love … and I wonder how I ever thought I’d let someone else adopt her.

We adore both of our K-9 Angels foster “failures”!

Leave a comment

Filed under Happy Tails

Please Leave a Reply

